Thank you!

It’s an honor and a privilege and more than a trifle scary to stand here today and thank you for choosing me to be your president.  As we begin, I want to share with you the story of how I came to be a member of the League.

I joined the League in 1983 when a member of my church invited me to join.  She told me the League was beginning a study of California’s initiative process and since I was a college professor of American history wouldn’t I like to join?  Sounded intriguing and it would be fun to work with people in such a prestigious organization.  So I mailed in my form.  The next week I got a letter which turned out to be the agenda for the next board meeting.  Puzzled, I called the president and asked if perhaps there had been a mistake.  The president, a very gracious steel magnolia who originally hailed from Texas, said; ‘Oh no dear, you’re the study committee chair.  Committee chairs are always on the board.”  And here I am.

I was thrown in at the deep end, then and many times after, as opportunities for League service arose – frequently out of left field.  Nobody asked for my CV and four letters of recommendation.  I was deeply interested in public policy and willing to work, and that was all that counted.  I was enabled, encouraged, supported, and occasionally guilt tripped, to take on new projects and stretch beyond anything I could have imagined. And I’m sure that every person in this room can say the same.  The League truly is a unique organization which empowers its members to participate and to lead no matter how new or nervous they are.